HSBA Awards

'Ikena Award (Legal Education)
- Recognizes an individual (attorney or non-attorney) or entity for outstanding service to the public or profession toward legal education such as: Activities relating to legal education such as brochures, speeches, classes; activities supporting legal education such as new public education programs;outstanding service in providing legal education for the public.


2014 Award Recipients: Hawaii Coalition for Immigration Reform

Hawaii Coalition for Immigration Reform

Since its inception, Hawaii Coalition for Immigration Reform, its members and organizers have worked tirelessly and effectively to advocate for the human and legal rights of immigrants, thereby significantly improving the lives of citizens and noncitizens in Hawaii.  With the help of legal experts and through the national networking and research of organizers, HCIR continuously seeks to educate the public regarding a range of legal matters, from the application of laws and regulations, to administrative and legislative processes and procedures, to the rights and liabilities of noncitizens under a complicated and ever-changing landscape of immigration law. 

List of 'Ikena Award Recipients

President's Award (Distinguished Service)
- The HSBA President’s Award is presented for extraordinary contributions and lifetime achievement that best exemplify the mission statement of the Hawaii State Bar Association: to unite and inspire Hawaii's lawyers to promote justice, serve the public, and improve the legal profession.

2013 Award Recipient: Charlene Iboshi

Charlene Iboshi

As an active HSBA member, Charlene Iboshi has served a member of the HSBA Technology Committee for the past 2½ years, as well as Big Island Director of the HSBA Senior Counsel Division since 2013.  She is ever mindful of getting neighbor island members more connected and involved in HSBA activities and programs.  Recently, her coordination efforts with Hawaii State Civil Defense and Hawaii County Bar Association was instrumental in assisting Puna residents affected by the disaster from Tropical Storm Iselle.  Ms. Iboshi is also a huge supporter of alternative dispute resolution, and has served on the Ku`ikahi Mediation Center Board of Directors and initiated training for mediation to the Prosecutor’s staff.  She continues to support ADR efforts, reaching out to schools and the Judiciary.

List of President's Award Recipients

Champion for Social Justice Award
- Recognizes an attorney for courageous legal work in the face of public controversy that helps promote the interests of justice and preserves the integrity of the judiciary.


2014 Award Recipients: Calleen Ching and Bow Mun Chin


Calleen Ching

A leader in advancing the rights of immigrant survivors of domestic violence and sexual assault, Calleen Ching has helped ensure that noncitizen survivors of these crimes get the services, support and legal advocacy they need to achieve safety and justice.  Her courageous work advancing the rights of vulnerable immigrants by promoting language access and addressing domestic violence in culturally relevant ways along with her long-standing commitment to public interest law make her the perfect example of  a Champion for Social Justice.

Bow Mun Chin

Bow Mun Chin has long represented numerous clients across the gamut of immigration law, doing vital work with special immigrant juveniles, asylum seekers, and adjustment of status issues, while also assisting many immigrant crime victims, who are afforded special protection under federal law.  The sum total of Mr. Chin's efforts, spanning enumerable hours over decades, is a major contribution to the achievement of the ideal of civil justice for the disenfranchised.

List of Champion for Social Justice Award Recipients

C. Frederick Schutte Award (Service toward the legal profession)
- Recognizes an attorney for outstanding and meritorious service to the legal community and the profession such as: Activities within the bar association, its committees, Boards, ad hoc committees; outstanding service as an individual to community organizations having an effect directly or indirectly upon the provision of legal services to the community.

Not awarded in 2014.

List of C. Frederick Schutte Award Recipients

Golden Gavel Award (Judicial Administration)
- Recognizes an attorney or non-attorney for outstanding service to the state or federal judiciary in Hawaii such as: Activities relating to court practice and procedures; activities relating to new or innovative projects regarding the Judiciary; outstanding service having an effect directly or indirectly upon the fair and efficient provision of justice by the Judiciary.

Not awarded in 2014. 

List of Golden Gavel Award Recipients

Ki'e ki'e Award (Pro Bono)
- Recognizes an attorney for outstanding provision of professional legal services at no charge to the recipient such as: Pro bono expenditure of time on a case of great public import having a broad effect upon the legal rights or interests of a large segment of the community or the community as a whole; extraordinary expenditure of pro bono time in cases above and beyond the normal expenditure of pro bono time within one’s employment; expenditure of substantial pro bono time and professional resources as a “private attorney general” on a matter of great public interest or concern where the appropriate government legal officer has refused, neglected or otherwise failed to take action; the maintenance, establishment and/or devotion of a tremendous amount of professional time, beyond one’s normal professional obligations in pro bono work in a historical sense.

2014 Award Recipient: Joanna Sokolow

Joanna Sokolow

Joanna Sokolow is a committed advocate for access to justice and was instrumental in assisting with the Judiciary's creation of, and volunteering at, the self-help desk at the West Hawai'i courthouse in Kealakekua.  Ms. Sokolow has also dedicated her extraordinary career to assisting victims of domestic violence at little or no cost to them by working countless hours above and beyond what is expected in order to ensure the safety of hundreds of abused families and children in West Hawai'i.

List of Ki'e ki'e Award Recipients

Greeley Key Award for Innovation
- Recognizes an attorney or non-attorney for out-of-the-box legal work that involves promoting new and creative uses of, or approaches to, the law as a positive force in our community or world (pushing the envelope in how the legal system might help bring about a better future).

Not awarded in 2014

List for Greeley Key Award Recipients

Malama Hawaii Award
- Recognizes an attorney for outstanding and effective non-legal community service activities to make a difference and improve the quality of life in Hawaii such as: fundraising for foundations & local groups, reaching out to the underserved, contributions to low income individuals and their families, encouraging voluntarism, revitalizing the community, protecting natural resources and the environment, or developing innovative and creative community programs.

Not awarded in 2014 

List for Malama Hawaii Award Recipients